GreatGrizzly
Posts: 9
Joined: Nov 09, 2016 5:37 pm
Contact: Send private message

Extruder clicking at factory supplied 120 mm/s Feed rate

Aug 10, 2018 5:26 am

I am using all default MK3 settings to print something in PETG. I have noticed that the extruder motor is clicking at 120mm/s but when I lower the max feed rate to 100 mm/s the clicking goes away. Since 120 mm/s is factory default settings...is my extruder motor going bad? Anything I can do to fix this?

toaf
Posts: 62
Joined: Jul 16, 2018 10:24 pm
Location: st. paul minnesota
Contact: Send private message

Re: Extruder clicking at factory supplied 120 mm/s Feed rate

Aug 10, 2018 5:55 am

seems to be the issue with 100 reasons why it can happen. the nozzle clogged? is you tube ok? are the filament teeth clean? pressure to little/tight? my issues happen when it gets hot.
thanks,
chris

User avatar
joan.t
Forum moderator
Forum moderator
Posts: 2386
Joined: Oct 29, 2015 11:42 pm
Topics answered: 38
Location: Halifax Uk
Contact: Send private message

Re: Extruder clicking at factory supplied 120 mm/s Feed rate

Aug 10, 2018 11:15 am

Good morning GreatGrizzly

which slicer are you using?

I don't see the 120mm/s in the Prusa PETG default settings in Slic3r?
PETG Speed.JPG
PETG Speed.JPG (49.51 KiB) Viewed 101 times
regards Joan
I try to make suggestions that I believe to be well founded and safe,You should understand the context and ensure you are happy that they are safe before attempting to apply my suggestions,
what you do, is YOUR responsibility.

GreatGrizzly
Posts: 9
Joined: Nov 09, 2016 5:37 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Extruder clicking at factory supplied 120 mm/s Feed rate

Aug 11, 2018 5:38 am

I am using Slic3r PE 1.41.0 Beta. There is a machine limits section that outlines max feed rates for all parts of the machine. The 120 mm/s is the E max feed rate.
Attachments
2018-08-10-223326_1366x768_scrot.png
2018-08-10-223326_1366x768_scrot.png (55.65 KiB) Viewed 69 times

User avatar
joan.t
Forum moderator
Forum moderator
Posts: 2386
Joined: Oct 29, 2015 11:42 pm
Topics answered: 38
Location: Halifax Uk
Contact: Send private message

Re: Extruder clicking at factory supplied 120 mm/s Feed rate

Aug 11, 2018 6:49 am

Thank you GreatGrizzly,

That is a new value to me, as I am using an earlier version of Slic3r.

I believe 12 centimetres per second feed rate is probably faster than the extruder can melt filament on a continuous basis. but this is the Maximum setting not the normal running setting.
and the rate at which you can use the filament is a factor of the nozzle diameter filament temperature and a host of other factors.
Filament setup PETG.JPG
Filament setup PETG.JPG (66.9 KiB) Viewed 63 times
if my maths is correct a feed rate of 120mm/s would try and move 288cubic mm/s into the extruder ,

I believe the E3dV6 extruder has a melt volume of 11.3 Cubic millimetres/s.

I believe it is likely that you are trying to over drive the extruder and it is responding with missed steps.

I don't expect your extruder is going bad, I suspect that other settings in your profile may be over ambitious.

regards Joan
I try to make suggestions that I believe to be well founded and safe,You should understand the context and ensure you are happy that they are safe before attempting to apply my suggestions,
what you do, is YOUR responsibility.

GreatGrizzly
Posts: 9
Joined: Nov 09, 2016 5:37 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Extruder clicking at factory supplied 120 mm/s Feed rate

Aug 13, 2018 12:11 am

Thanks for the response! Its good to know that the default settings are too ambitious and it might not be a physical issue with my printer.

mgx0
Posts: 19
Joined: Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Extruder clicking at factory supplied 120 mm/s Feed rate

Aug 13, 2018 7:00 am

I heard clicking from the Bondtech gear when printing PETG at 200mm/s (did not happen when printing PLA), I tightened the screws on filament feeder and the clicking has gone away.

PETG is more viscous from what I can see and is not so fluid when melted, so it might require more force when feeding.

All is only my assumptions. At the end, I have no clicking anymore

Return to “Hardware, firmware and software help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: clinton.b2 and 4 guests