jorgen.r

First time printing with petg, problems.

Mar 08, 2018 9:15 am

hello

So its my first time printing with petg, and i read in the handbook to use window cleaner to clean the bed. I have done it but my first layers comes out really bad, i have also change the live z a bit(maybe wrong). but im too noob to figure out myself, hopefully someone can help. I put some picture below so you can see.

https://imgur.com/a/nRjI6
https://imgur.com/a/i4PUR
https://imgur.com/a/lZ6uA
https://imgur.com/a/t6pxT
https://imgur.com/a/9KeF6

Thanks in advance

stahlfabrik
Topics answered: 1

Re: First time printing with petg, problems.

Mar 08, 2018 11:14 am

First layer is too high. That could solve the problems IMHO

rui.v

Mar 08, 2018 11:16 am

stahlfabrik wrote:
Hello, you mean temperature or extruder speed?

joan.t
Forum moderator
Forum moderator
Topics answered: 44

Mar 08, 2018 11:20 am

live Z height, too small a negative number

try reducing extrusion multiplier to say .95

try reducing first layer speed.

regards Joan
I try to make suggestions that I believe to be well founded and safe,You should understand the context and ensure you are happy that they are safe before attempting to apply my suggestions,
what you do, is YOUR responsibility.

jorgen.r

Mar 08, 2018 11:21 am

stahlfabrik wrote:
i try that, thanks. should the nozzle be lower or higher than a good first layer with pla?

stahlfabrik

Mar 08, 2018 11:23 am

rui.v wrote:
stahlfabrik wrote:
I mean "live adjust z" - the nozzle is too high. You see that by the split lines of your layer that SHOULD be welded together. There would weld if the material would be more squished. You must dial "live adjust Z" to more negative value. E.g from -0.820. to maybe -0.840. Of course I make these numbers just up.

Speed is also a factor IMHO. I did not print much PETG yet but reducing speed on the first layer increased my chances of getting the PETG to stick to the bed.

stahlfabrik

Mar 08, 2018 11:26 am

jorgen.r wrote: