waldemar.g
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:27 pm
Topics answered: 2
Contact: Send private message

Re: Wire up filament sensor to MK2, use thermister circuit?

Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:19 am

Hi Stepen,
stephen.l2 wrote:
Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:47 pm
Hi Waldemar,
I have a question regarding to you filament sensor code. I am currently running 3.0.11, and I am pretty happy about it.
If you want to stay with an stable version you should consider version 3.0.12, there were quite a lot of fixes and features added to 3.0.12.
However, I am planning to install a filament runout sensor and I decided to compile my own for my liking. I was wondering can you briefly tell me which file did you do the modification. Basically, I just want to add the sensor on, so whenever the filament run out, the print pause and wait for my input from the LCD. I know you add a sensor menu on the latest firmware, and I want to add it to my current firmware as well. Would you mind if you can tell me which file did you touch and modified? Thanks and have a great day.

So If I just want to add the filament sensor to RamBo using the y-max end stop. Do I just change the FR_SENS to 24 under pins.h and Uncomment the #define FILAMENT RUNOUT SUPPORT under Configuration_prusa.h? Is that it? or I have something else to do?
Yes that's it for the basic function, BUT depending on the sensor you are using you may need also use a pullup function to get reliable readings.
Useful is also to #define DISABLE_MAX_ENDSTOPS in the Configuration.h
For more information you also can compare
https://github.com/3d-gussner/Prusa-Fir ... -FRSens_v1 https://github.com/3d-gussner/Prusa-Fir ... ens_v1.zip
with https://github.com/prusa3d/Prusa-Firmwa ... ag/v3.0.12 https://github.com/prusa3d/Prusa-Firmwa ... 3.0.12.zip
Is it hard to implement the menu like you did on 3.1.0-RC1 firmware? Thanks.
That was bit more work to implement just check my github and commits i have.
Had to mod 'Configuration.h', 'Marlin_main.cpp', 'ultralcd.cpp', 'language_en.h',... files generate 'language_all.h/cpp' files. And it took days of testing.

At the moment i am reorganizing my github, so not all branches are up to date.
But you can get an idea if you look in the ALL_IN_ONE branch and search for 'RUNOUT'.

Hope that helps,

Waldemar aka 3d-gussner



waldemar.g
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:27 pm
Topics answered: 2
Contact: Send private message

Re: Wire up filament sensor to MK2, use thermister circuit?

Wed Nov 08, 2017 8:50 am

Hi,

got finally the new 3.1.0-RC2 firmware for Prusa i3 MK2/S/MMU with Hyperfine Bed Tuning and Filament Runout Sensor tested and released.
Check my github https://github.com/3d-gussner/Prusa-Firmware/releases for the latest version.

waldemar.g
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:27 pm
Topics answered: 2
Contact: Send private message

Re: Wire up filament sensor to MK2, use thermister circuit?

Wed Nov 15, 2017 1:24 pm

Hi,

3.1.0 firmware for Prusa i3 MK2/S/MMU with Hyperfine Bed Tuning and Filament Runout Sensor is ready

You can choose between tree hex files depending which languages you want/need to use.

https://github.com/3d-gussner/Prusa-Firmware/releases

Please let me know if there are any issues.

Waldemar aka 3d-gussner

miha.m
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:20 am
Contact: Send private message

Re: Wire up filament sensor to MK2, use thermister circuit?

Thu Nov 23, 2017 3:31 pm

I would like to have a when "out of filament" go to pause mode and beep or whatever (configurable) as well.
Otherwise it's hard to catch the good point in time to replace the filament and one risks to throw away the product so far.
I'm all for doing it cleanly with firmware support (official).
Aynway, this work of yours looks good.

waldemar.g
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:27 pm
Topics answered: 2
Contact: Send private message

Re: Wire up filament sensor to MK2, use thermister circuit?

Thu Nov 23, 2017 4:26 pm

miha.m wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 3:31 pm
I would like to have a when "out of filament" go to pause mode and beep or whatever (configurable) as well.
Otherwise it's hard to catch the good point in time to replace the filament and one risks to throw away the product so far.
Hi,

what do you mean with 'got to pause and beep or whatever (configurable) as well' ?

The filament runout sensor triggers g-code M600, which is kind of 'pause and beep' with removing the filament and waiting for the user to change the filament.

The difference, beside remove filament - and waiting for user interaction, i can see is, that during M600 gcode the hotend and bed temps stay and with pause the hotend temp is set to 0 while bed temp stays.

Never waited with pause or M600 g-code for a long time, so cannot say if there is any timer that will switch hotend and/or bed off.

Do you mean that the FRS could behave different
1. when you are close to the printer and awake (M600 filament change)
2. and on the other side it does something else when you are away or sleep? But what should it do then and how?
I'm all for doing it cleanly with firmware support (official).
I tried to get the Hyperfine Bed Leveling and other things pulled in the official Prusa firmware, but it takes time and sometimes it doesn't make it.
So i started to publish the modified firmware releases, for users who like to have these features but don't want to code them self.

I am also happy that ~40% of users downloaded my firmware release had chosen for the modified language versions (EN,ES,FR,PT,NL and EN,DE,NL,FR), so all the effort done by two other people to help translating is not for nothing.
Aynway, this work of yours looks good.
Thanks

agniu.m
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 12:35 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Wire up filament sensor to MK2, use thermister circuit?

Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:43 pm

Hi. Can you help set up filament run-out sensor so it works with normally closed type when filament is not present? I have this idea connecting one wire to motor casing and the other to filament idler bearing. Its stealth and requires no switches and it works only reversed.
I am not that great wit arduino.
The const bool Y_MAX setting to false does not work probably cause #define DISABLE_MAX_ENDSTOPS

Help would be greatly appreciated.
Agnius

waldemar.g
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:27 pm
Topics answered: 2
Contact: Send private message

Re: Wire up filament sensor to MK2, use thermister circuit?

Sat Jan 13, 2018 6:06 am

agniu.m wrote:
Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:43 pm
Hi. Can you help set up filament run-out sensor so it works with normally closed type when filament is not present? I have this idea connecting one wire to motor casing and the other to filament idler bearing. Its stealth and requires no switches and it works only reversed.
I am not that great wit arduino.
The const bool Y_MAX setting to false does not work probably cause #define DISABLE_MAX_ENDSTOPS

Help would be greatly appreciated.
Agnius
Hi Agnius,

Hi saw your issue on my Github here the same answer, maybe somebody else can give some thoughts and ideas.

Yes it is possible to have NC FRS switch defined.

I defined the Y_MAX_PIN 24 as 'FIL_RUNOUT_PIN 24' in the pins.h file. As i don't use any other max endstops and to prevent issues i disabled the 'DISABLE_MAX_ENDSTOPS' so there are double assignments to ONE PIN!

I am not sure if i understand you correctly:
- You want to make FRS switch by using the E-motor and the E-idler by connecting cables to theses?
- Doing this you have to make sure that the voltage and current aren't too high for the miniRambo ATmega pin, you could destroy your board. I don't know if the motor shaft generates any voltage/current in operation or manual movement. So be careful and analyse that really good. If you have a cheap Arduino board (which you can miss in worst case) you should try that there.


I implemented the FRS for two sensors.
- One for mechanical switches Signal to GND
- One for optical switches Signal to VCC
So depending if you plan to set the pin to GND or VCC you should be able to read the status.

As said i am not sure what you are planning to do, I don't own a oscilloscope and proper tools to measure if this could harm the controller board.

waldemar.g
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:27 pm
Topics answered: 2
Contact: Send private message

Re: Wire up filament sensor to MK2, use thermister circuit?

Sat Jan 13, 2018 7:25 am

Hi, can you post a picture ?
And how you wired it.

Return to “Improvements (Archive)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest