User avatar
martin.m25
Posts: 108
Joined: Aug 15, 2017 3:59 pm
Location: Central Switzerland
Contact: Send private message

CAD models for MK3 parts

Dec 02, 2017 3:32 pm

Are there drawings, specifications, 3D models etc. available for MK3 parts? Printable parts are published as SCAD and STL, but what about
- aluminium frame (DXF - an outdated version is on github), front and back plate
- extrusions
- PINDA probe
- Motors with leadscrews
- leadscrew nuts
- Y carriage, heatbed
...
Is there even a BOM (bill of materials)?
I understand if Prusa does not want to publish ready made blueprints for pirating his design, but then there's this "open source" thing... I want to modify the extruder for the volcano hotend and the first step for doing this is seeing how the current design fits together. Any ideas?

- Martin
- Martin

pieter.d
Posts: 51
Joined: Oct 28, 2016 3:50 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: CAD models for MK3 parts

Dec 02, 2017 9:25 pm

github

User avatar
martin.m25
Posts: 108
Joined: Aug 15, 2017 3:59 pm
Location: Central Switzerland
Contact: Send private message

Re: CAD models for MK3 parts

Dec 02, 2017 10:22 pm

where? not in https://github.com/prusa3d as far as I can see.
- Martin

User avatar
rotarypower101
Posts: 171
Joined: Sep 23, 2017 3:48 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: CAD models for MK3 parts

Dec 02, 2017 10:33 pm

Related question, is there a specific way to download the .scad files to allow them to be viewed and modified in fusion 360 and or solidworks?
Last edited by rotarypower101 on Dec 03, 2017 4:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Area51
Posts: 141
Joined: Oct 18, 2016 2:03 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: CAD models for MK3 parts

Dec 03, 2017 1:03 am

Fusion 360 can load STL files, but that can be a mess to work with. SCAD files is not supported at the moment: OpenSCAD Import/export but requested by users.

For simple models I find it easier to redraw the model in the CAD program. For more complex models I have previous been using the the tool chain: SCAD file -> FreeCAD -> Soild model file

FreeCAD is free and can export in many different file formats.

I'm not familiar with Solidworks.

themzlab
Posts: 120
Joined: Jul 30, 2017 4:17 am
Topics answered: 2
Contact: Send private message

Re: CAD models for MK3 parts

Dec 03, 2017 1:19 am

Area51 wrote:
Dec 03, 2017 1:03 am
Fusion 360 can load STL files, but that can be a mess to work with. SCAD files is not supported at the moment: OpenSCAD Import/export but requested by users.

For simple models I find it easier to redraw the model in the CAD program. For more complex models I have previous been using the the tool chain: SCAD file -> FreeCAD -> Soild model file

FreeCAD is free and can export in many different file formats.

I'm not familiar with Solidworks.
2nd this

more specifically from SCAD .csg file can be exported. in SCAD you read in the file and then rebuild (F6) before exporting. The .csg file can be read by FreeCAD which in turn can export a STEP or IGS file. These should be readable by the other CAD packages. The holes will be faceted which isn't perfect but if you need specific features they could be rebuilt once you get the geometry imported.

The other components mentioned are either standard (motors) or should be pretty easy to CAD once you have the printer in hand.

User avatar
rotarypower101
Posts: 171
Joined: Sep 23, 2017 3:48 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: CAD models for MK3 parts

Dec 03, 2017 4:45 am

Area51 wrote:
Dec 03, 2017 1:03 am
Fusion 360 can load STL files, but that can be a mess to work with. SCAD files is not supported at the moment: OpenSCAD Import/export but requested by users.

For simple models I find it easier to redraw the model in the CAD program. For more complex models I have previous been using the the tool chain: SCAD file -> FreeCAD -> Soild model file

FreeCAD is free and can export in many different file formats.

I'm not familiar with Solidworks.
Thank you guys, I will give this advice a go.

I would like to avoid the .stl files completely , .stl files have been a complete joke to work with in my experience to modify, it's possible there is a better way to do it, but I have not found it. (Perhaps people convert .stl files back into a standard file type? Specifically for reference geometry?)

What I was hopeing for is a way to import a existing .scad file or a quick easy conversion, assuming there might be a trick out there to work with this specific file type.

The common advice I have read was to install a instance and export as a .step file from opencad.

I was hoping to find something more streamlined than having more software packages floating around on my machine for very rare usage if possible...

I can easily model the parts I am after, it just seemed advantageous to grab the .scad files I wanted to modify and simply amend them and have the parts ready when the MK3 gets here.

I really am not a fan of the zip ties used to restrain the Y axis linear rails to the blocks, It may be a silly preference...but that is something I absolutely would like to change immediately. Those and the thread stock and jamb nuts as the frame were the 2 points that held me back from purchasing this machine before.

User avatar
rotarypower101
Posts: 171
Joined: Sep 23, 2017 3:48 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: CAD models for MK3 parts

Dec 03, 2017 4:52 am

I looked over the build guide, other than legacy, why are they still utilizing the zip ties to restrain the Y axis linear rods ?

Assuming anyone can speculate or even cares to?

I can see the utility in how quick they are to simply nip with side cutters and remove almost the entire Y axis....but to what point and purpose?

Is this something people typically do? Particularly on such a proven reliable machine?

And couldn't this simply be done by 8 small screws now?

I am sure this isn't a particularly relevant question for most... but it is something I would love to understand better if I am missing something obviously helpful of beneficial in the design?

themzlab
Posts: 120
Joined: Jul 30, 2017 4:17 am
Topics answered: 2
Contact: Send private message

Re: CAD models for MK3 parts

Dec 03, 2017 12:07 pm

The topic of the zip ties is interesting, but since this thread is about converting the CAD.. I'll refrain.

I've converted some models from the github to Solidworks. There have been some errors in the surfaces (extra surfaces) but nothing that has been difficult to clean up. One model worked better as IGES than STEP but I think generally STEP is the best format to use before importing to your own CAD.

I don't know how I will use the CAD yet, at most will make small modifications and re-print my own. At the least they just take up space on my drives : O

jltx
Posts: 391
Joined: Jan 30, 2017 3:28 am
Contact: Send private message

Re: CAD models for MK3 parts

Dec 03, 2017 4:22 pm

rotarypower101 wrote:
Dec 03, 2017 4:45 am
Area51 wrote:
Dec 03, 2017 1:03 am
Fusion 360 can load STL files, but that can be a mess to work with. SCAD files is not supported at the moment: OpenSCAD Import/export but requested by users.

For simple models I find it easier to redraw the model in the CAD program. For more complex models I have previous been using the the tool chain: SCAD file -> FreeCAD -> Soild model file

FreeCAD is free and can export in many different file formats.

I'm not familiar with Solidworks.
Thank you guys, I will give this advice a go.

I would like to avoid the .stl files completely , .stl files have been a complete joke to work with in my experience to modify, it's possible there is a better way to do it, but I have not found it. (Perhaps people convert .stl files back into a standard file type? Specifically for reference geometry?)

What I was hopeing for is a way to import a existing .scad file or a quick easy conversion, assuming there might be a trick out there to work with this specific file type.

The common advice I have read was to install a instance and export as a .step file from opencad.

I was hoping to find something more streamlined than having more software packages floating around on my machine for very rare usage if possible...

I can easily model the parts I am after, it just seemed advantageous to grab the .scad files I wanted to modify and simply amend them and have the parts ready when the MK3 gets here.

I really am not a fan of the zip ties used to restrain the Y axis linear rails to the blocks, It may be a silly preference...but that is something I absolutely would like to change immediately. Those and the thread stock and jamb nuts as the frame were the 2 points that held me back from purchasing this machine before.
You have to be careful with the SCAD -> freeCad -> step. It often produces errors or artifacts that need to be cleaned up. I have converted many mk2s parts to step for my mods. I am about to embark on mk3 as well.
You want parts? I got MK3 parts https://www.thingiverse.com/jltx/designs

Return to “General discussion, announcements and releases”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests