tim.g7
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 3:18 pm
Contact: Send private message

Strange gcode

Sat Feb 17, 2018 6:10 pm

Hello Everyone,

I am printing some characters on my MK3 i3 after using Meshmixer to repair them ( thank for posting about that Joseph ). A strange thing has befallen this print, for some reason after slicing it in S3D the print has filament change commands:-? I didn't put them in myself and all the file were STLs, so how did filament change commands find their way into the slice, and how, if possible can I fix it?

It's actually pretty cool and I've opted to go with it, and print the models with bicolor stripes, but it's not Ideal if I wanted to start a print and leave for an extended period. Has anyone else encountered this?

Thanks in advance for any help,
Tim

kai.r3
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 1:19 pm
Location: Germany
Contact: Send private message

Re: Strange gcode

Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:32 am

Are you sure that there are Filament change commands in the gcode?
Maybe it is your filament sensor in combination with the type of Filament you use.

User avatar
joan.t
Forum moderator
Forum moderator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 11:42 pm
Topics answered: 21
Location: Halifax Uk
Contact: Send private message

Re: Strange gcode

Mon Feb 19, 2018 10:05 am

Hi Tim,

have you actually checked the G code, for 'M600' commands?

if they exist, you could try deleteing them

regards Joan
I try to make suggestions that I believe to be well founded and safe,You should understand the context and ensure you are happy that they are safe before attempting to apply my suggestions,
what you do, is YOUR responsibility.

tim.g7
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 3:18 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Strange gcode

Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:14 am

Thank Joan and Kai.3ifor your replies,

No, I hadn't checked the gcode since I had no clue what code to look for :-? so thank you for expanding my very limited gcode vocabulary:-)

but after reading a post here about the same issue, Joseph had suggested it could be debris in the filament sensor.

I checked and blew it out, then realized the sensor always seemed pretty loose. I used 2 small pieces of folded paper to take up the slack behind the sensor and closed it.

Since doing that, it's an hour into printing flawlessly, so I think that the sensor moving around during the print was the cause, which would explain the very random frequency of the filament switches. It seems that the sensor moving sends a false filament out message and call for a filament change.

Thank you again for the help.

Unless I post otherwise the matter has been resolved and ( assuming it continues to work ) , please share this solution.

Tim

Return to “Others (Archive)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest