filip.s2
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 10:21 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: life adjust Z - my way

Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:56 pm

I am completely lost here.

I ran this calibration test 3 times before I got the perfect surface - no gaps whatsoever between infill and perimeters, perfectly smooth on the bottom, very very smooth on top. Ran it one more time and the square is perfectly printed throughout the whole surface.

I start printing Adalinda from the Prusa SD card after that, the first layer is terrible. Combination of gaps an extruded corners (as in situations you have too little clearance between bed and nozzle so the nozzle drags a bit of the filament that got extruded).

Unfortunately, my camera completely stopped working so I can't take a photo but I have no idea what causes this.

Adalinda is a pretty rough print, with a lot of short, fast movements... maybe my Y axis belt is getting loose? The X axis belt is OK, but I can't check the Y acis while it's printing and I don't wish to stop it - I hope to see if there are more issues mid-print.

servane.t
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:25 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: life adjust Z - my way

Mon Apr 02, 2018 7:57 pm

thanks a lot for this: very helpfull

luke.n2
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:05 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: life adjust Z - my way

Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:16 pm

Hello all,

First time printer here - Have built my kit and ran though all the initial testing/calibration with no issues. After the built in Z height calibration I printed a Prusa logo and wasn't convinced with the surface on the back of the first layer:

Image

So I found this thread here and decided to give it a go. Now I'd appreciate a little feedback before going further.

Here's my first test square. (-.800 being from the Prusa calibration. Then I adjusted to -.900 for the second half.)
Image
It's certainly a lot better on the -.900 but still some small gaps. Only really noticeable when held up to light, and only at one corner.
Image

Then, that leaves me wondering:
- Should I adjust more? Another -.050? or -.100?
or is there some other issue?

User avatar
JeffJordan
Pro
Pro
Posts: 1380
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 9:00 am
Topics answered: 18
Location: Rodgau / Germany
Contact: Send private message

Re: life adjust Z - my way

Sun Apr 08, 2018 2:59 pm

I recommend to "fine tune" it down to +/- 20µm.
check out -920 and -940.
you should get a closed and consistent surface, without seperated strains, at a thickness of 0.20mm.

remember, if you still got strains but no closed surface even when lowering the tip of the nozzle much further: check and calibrate your extruder first (most of the printers are under-extruding).
dem inscheniör is' nix zu schwör...

luke.n2
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:05 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: life adjust Z - my way

Sun Apr 08, 2018 8:05 pm

Hi Jeff,

Thanks for the reply.
Since posting I tried -.925 & -.950
-.950 had a rippled surface, -.925 was good but quite a rough surface.

So I backed up and tried -.910 and -.905; both seemed pretty damn good. But for some reason -.910 was smoothest, so I've stuck with that. But still has a few rough spots.
Does it sound okay?

mikebourgeault
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 8:31 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: life adjust Z - my way

Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:09 pm

I'm having a strange issue. If I print the v6.1 gcode downloaded from this thread it prints perfect. I have been able to get a nice smooth surface, and it measures exactly 0.2mm thick afterwards.

However I'm still getting bad first layers on prints. So I tried making my own square. 70x70x0.2. Sliced from slic3r at 0.2 layer height defaults. Prints awful, barely any lines merge with the next. My instincts tell me that its an issue in slic3r, but I dont know where to look. Im using octoprint so it might be there as well.

mikebourgeault
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 8:31 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: life adjust Z - my way

Wed Apr 11, 2018 12:32 am

mikebourgeault wrote:
Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:09 pm
I'm having a strange issue.
Well, I think I found it. The latest version of the prusa driver sets the gcode flavour to marlin. Every version before, and the version available from the prusa pe github page have it set to reprap.

I had decided to try runnig my self made square to see how close i needed to get, thinking i bumped the probe or something. Got it all the way down to -700 (it had previously been at -635 when it was working fine) before i noticed. Set it back to reprap, resliced, sent to printer at -635, and a perfect 0.2 layer.

Just uninstalled prusa software, manually deleted folders and reinstalled to confirm, still showing set to marlin..

Weird. Can anyone else confirm?

Return to “Assembly and first prints troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: christopher.d16 and 2 guests