al.g
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 27, 2018 8:09 am
Contact: Send private message

Preheating the Nozzle without the Heatbed - possible?

Aug 10, 2018 6:51 pm

Hi Everyone,

trying out the tricky Flex Filaments, Filaflex / Polyflex.

Is there a Chance to Preheat the Nozzle without heating the bed?

Both don´t require a heated bed, had to reload due to Loops in the Gears and can´t Preheat without also heating the bed, right?

Thanks in Advance,

Al

User avatar
joan.t
Forum moderator
Forum moderator
Posts: 3317
Joined: Oct 29, 2015 11:42 pm
Answers: 72
Location: Halifax Uk
Contact: Send private message

Re: Preheating the Nozzle without the Heatbed - possible?

Aug 10, 2018 7:09 pm

in Slic3r, you can set the bed temperature to zero!
flex cold bed.JPG
flex cold bed.JPG (47.78 KiB) Viewed 217 times
or you can choose settings on the LCD, then temperature, bed and set to 0

regards Joan
I try to make suggestions that I believe to be well founded and safe,You should understand the context and ensure you are happy that they are safe before attempting to apply my suggestions,
what you do, is YOUR responsibility.

al.g
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 27, 2018 8:09 am
Contact: Send private message

Re: Preheating the Nozzle without the Heatbed - possible?

Aug 10, 2018 8:26 pm

Thank you Joan,

the Settings in Slic3r have been made.

But can I Preheat the Nozzle on the Printer during a Print (because the Filament ran Havoc) without heating the bed?

stephan.k
Posts: 403
Joined: Oct 05, 2016 11:28 am
Answers: 3
Contact: Send private message

Re: Preheating the Nozzle without the Heatbed - possible?

Aug 10, 2018 9:24 pm

On the printer: Settings > Temperature > Nozzle

instead of Preheat.. is that what you're looking for?

Bytor
Posts: 96
Joined: Mar 30, 2017 11:53 am
Contact: Send private message

Re: Preheating the Nozzle without the Heatbed - possible?

Aug 11, 2018 1:33 am

If you use OctoPrint you can set Nozzle and Heatbed temperatures separately
3D printing newbie - wanting to learn :D

- 1st "printer" TIKO 3D
- 2nd PRUSA i3 MK2S with MMU v1
- 3rd PRUSA i3 MK2S
- 4th PRUSA i3 MK3 with MMU v2 on order

User avatar
joan.t
Forum moderator
Forum moderator
Posts: 3317
Joined: Oct 29, 2015 11:42 pm
Answers: 72
Location: Halifax Uk
Contact: Send private message

Re: Preheating the Nozzle without the Heatbed - possible?

Aug 11, 2018 7:56 am

Hi Al.g

on the LCD display, you can access the menu 'Settings' and sub menu 'temperature' and the sub option Nozzle. where you can select the temperature that you want.

this can be used to preheat the nozzle before a print, or to change the temperature of the nozzle during a print!

I hope this helps you,
regards Joan
I try to make suggestions that I believe to be well founded and safe,You should understand the context and ensure you are happy that they are safe before attempting to apply my suggestions,
what you do, is YOUR responsibility.

Return to “Assembly and first prints troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests