chris.h34
Posts: 13
Joined: Nov 23, 2017 8:50 pm
Contact: Send private message

Filament loading errors

Dec 06, 2018 2:02 pm

Here’s what happens:

1. select Load filament extruder 1
2. loads first filament and works fine
3. load filament extruder 2/3/4
4. it unloads extruder 1


If I try to load extruders 2-4, only extruder 1 does the slow load spin. 2-4 does nothing. Extruder 2-4 don’t make the slow clicking/loading noise at all.

What’s going on? I double checked the extruder a connections and they seem to be fine.

User avatar
toaf
Posts: 662
Joined: Jul 16, 2018 10:24 pm
Answers: 5
Location: st. paul minnesota
Contact: Send private message

Re: Filament loading errors

Dec 06, 2018 3:53 pm

is the idler body moving? you can open the mmu and hit the buttons on the mmu to pick the other filaments. and see how well it moves.
thanks,
chris

User avatar
PJR
Forum moderator
Forum moderator
Posts: 5242
Joined: Jun 01, 2015 6:37 am
Answers: 24
Location: Kamnik, Slovenija
Contact: Send private message Website

Re: Filament loading errors

Dec 06, 2018 6:42 pm

toaf wrote:
Dec 06, 2018 3:53 pm
is the idler body moving? you can open the mmu and hit the buttons on the mmu to pick the other filaments. and see how well it moves.
MMU1 ;)

So what firmware do you have loaded? Do you have the connections correct on the RAMBo (picture please). Is this the first time you have used the MMU?

Peter
Please note: I do not have any affiliation with Prusa Research. Any advices given are offered in good faith. It is your responsibility to ensure that by following my advice you do not suffer or cause injury, damage or loss.

User avatar
toaf
Posts: 662
Joined: Jul 16, 2018 10:24 pm
Answers: 5
Location: st. paul minnesota
Contact: Send private message

Re: Filament loading errors

Dec 06, 2018 7:38 pm

oops, my bad..

sorry. didn't notice mmu1
thanks,
chris

chris.h34
Posts: 13
Joined: Nov 23, 2017 8:50 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Filament loading errors

Dec 07, 2018 5:33 am

PJR wrote:
Dec 06, 2018 6:42 pm
toaf wrote:
Dec 06, 2018 3:53 pm
is the idler body moving? you can open the mmu and hit the buttons on the mmu to pick the other filaments. and see how well it moves.
MMU1 ;)

So what firmware do you have loaded? Do you have the connections correct on the RAMBo (picture please). Is this the first time you have used the MMU?

Peter
Hi there. This is my first time setting up/using MMU. I'm using the latest firmware from prusa. just downloaded from main site a few days ago.

Heres a link to the album https://imgur.com/a/pudMtEq

The MMU board is labeled 1-4 for extruder 1-4. The connections seem pretty solid on the MMU board and the RAMBo.

User avatar
PJR
Forum moderator
Forum moderator
Posts: 5242
Joined: Jun 01, 2015 6:37 am
Answers: 24
Location: Kamnik, Slovenija
Contact: Send private message Website

Re: Filament loading errors

Dec 07, 2018 10:19 am

chris.h34 wrote:
Dec 07, 2018 5:33 am
I'm using the latest firmware from prusa. just downloaded from main site a few days ago.
That's not a lot of use. Please go the the printer, on the LCD you will find a "Support" option which will report the firmware version.
chris.h34 wrote:
Dec 07, 2018 5:33 am
Heres a link to the album https://imgur.com/a/pudMtEq
No, sorry, I don't navigate to third-party sites to "view images". Can you please post the photo here. Just attach it to a new post - drag & drop or use the "attachments" option.

Peter
Please note: I do not have any affiliation with Prusa Research. Any advices given are offered in good faith. It is your responsibility to ensure that by following my advice you do not suffer or cause injury, damage or loss.

chris.h34
Posts: 13
Joined: Nov 23, 2017 8:50 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Filament loading errors

Dec 10, 2018 2:36 pm

Lmk if this helps. Aside from the main MMU board, the other photos are quite difficult to see exactly where the connections is.

Firmware is 3.1.0
Attachments
IMG_0082.jpeg
IMG_0082.jpeg (601.77 KiB) Viewed 76 times
IMG_0081.jpeg
IMG_0081.jpeg (648.42 KiB) Viewed 76 times
IMG_0080.jpeg
IMG_0080.jpeg (848.86 KiB) Viewed 76 times

chris.h34
Posts: 13
Joined: Nov 23, 2017 8:50 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Filament loading errors

Dec 12, 2018 5:54 pm

PJR wrote:
Dec 07, 2018 10:19 am
chris.h34 wrote:
Dec 07, 2018 5:33 am
I'm using the latest firmware from prusa. just downloaded from main site a few days ago.
That's not a lot of use. Please go the the printer, on the LCD you will find a "Support" option which will report the firmware version.
chris.h34 wrote:
Dec 07, 2018 5:33 am
Heres a link to the album https://imgur.com/a/pudMtEq
No, sorry, I don't navigate to third-party sites to "view images". Can you please post the photo here. Just attach it to a new post - drag & drop or use the "attachments" option.

Peter

See post above for photos

Return to “Hardware, firmware and software help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest