User avatar
Murloc992
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:19 pm
Location: Lithuania
Contact: Send private message

Re: Cura print settings

Thu Jun 29, 2017 1:04 pm

Hey,

did anyone try the latest Cura?

I have tried it and faced the worst Z calibration ignore ever, which stabbed my PEI n stuff.

Anybody using it and know any tips to get it working?

alexandre.k
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 9:03 am
Contact: Send private message

Re: Cura print settings

Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:32 am

Hi,

I have been working with Cura 2.6 with the Prusa i3 MK2s and ran my (hot)nozzle into the Bed (the Bed now has severe markings). I haven't been able to reproduce this behaviour. However if i use Cura 2.6 as slicer for my Prusa, there is a high chance of the nozzel clogging. I have been using fairly standard settings.
I also observed, that with Cura 2.6 no temperature test is performed before a print.

/edit: Bottom line; I highly recommend using Slic3r with the Prusa. However I will keep using Cura for my Ultimaker 2+.

Cheers,
Alex

pieter.b
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 10:09 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Cura print settings

Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:59 pm

That's just the start gcode being different. Open 'manage printers', select the MK2, click 'Machine settings'. Then in start GCode, paste the following:

Code: Select all

G21 ; set units to millimeters G90 ; use absolute positioning M82 ; absolute extrusion mode M104 S{material_print_temperature} ; set extruder temp M140 S{material_bed_temperature} ; set bed temp M190 S{material_bed_temperature} ; wait for bed temp M109 S{material_print_temperature} ; wait for extruder temp G28 W ; home all without mesh bed level G80 ; mesh bed leveling G92 E0.0 ; reset extruder distance position G1 Y-3.0 F1000.0 ; go outside print area G1 X60.0 E9.0 F1000.0 ; intro line G1 X100.0 E21.5 F1000.0 ; intro line G92 E0.0 ; reset extruder distance position
Then set the initial layer height to 0.2mm in the print setting. Then it will start prints just like Slic3r does.

Perhaps we should create a pull requests for Cura with this, so it works like this out of the box.

pieter.b
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 10:09 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Cura print settings

Sat Sep 16, 2017 10:14 pm

Of course I mean: I just created a pull request to change the starting GCode for the prusa mk2 to work just like it does in Slic3r. See https://github.com/Ultimaker/Cura/pull/2441.

pieter.b
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 10:09 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Cura print settings

Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:15 pm

And it's been merged. When the next version is released Cura should now start prints the same way as Slic3r does, by first heating the nozzle and print bed, then doing calibration.

Return to “Original Prusa i3 MK2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aaron.s5, Bing [Bot] and 10 guests