Gortosch
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 6:34 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Simplify3D print settings (August 30, 2016)

Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:14 pm

Hi,

i have a Problem with the setting of Simlify3D.

Have the feeling, the retract at a Wipe Nozzle does not work. At the transitions of the outer lines blobs arise. This would actually have to go with a coast et end and wipe nozzle. But they do not. I do not know what I should adjust.

My current settings are as follows:
Extruder.jpg
Extruder.jpg (155.53 KiB) Viewed 1156 times
Layer.jpg
Setting "Start Points" is for debugging only.
Layer.jpg (151.61 KiB) Viewed 1156 times
Advanced.jpg
Advanced.jpg (167.74 KiB) Viewed 1156 times
Her can you look at the german thread of my Problem. With many images.
http://forums.reprap.org/read.php?245,7 ... msg-763889

It would be great if someone could help me.


Greetings
Sven

Gortosch
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 6:34 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Simplify3D print settings (August 30, 2016)

Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:17 pm

Here the other images.
Other.jpg
Other.jpg (154.15 KiB) Viewed 1155 times
20170420_102253.jpg
20170420_102253.jpg (153.52 KiB) Viewed 1155 times
magnifier_20170423_143232.jpg
magnifier_20170423_143232.jpg (298.39 KiB) Viewed 1155 times

User avatar
JeffJordan
Pro
Pro
Posts: 1275
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 9:00 am
Topics answered: 16
Location: Rodgau / Germany
Contact: Send private message

Re: Simplify3D print settings (August 30, 2016)

Mon Apr 24, 2017 8:04 pm

how did you set your "Start Points" at the layer setup (random or fast) ?
set it to a specific location, so that all the layers start at a rear edge of the benchy.... or even the middle of the nose.

furthermore i would reduce the "Outline Overlap" (infill settings).

by the way: have you read philipp.m's posting here inside this thread ?

his s3d settings for the benchy delivered an awesome print quality !
dem inscheniör is' nix zu schwör...

Gortosch
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 6:34 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Simplify3D print settings (August 30, 2016)

Tue Apr 25, 2017 5:45 am

Hello,

many thanks for the answer.

I know the setting "Start Points" it's a workaround but unfortunately not a solution. Especially with Slic3r it functions perfectly.

I have testet the Settings from philipp.m but the same issue.


Greeting
Sven

matteo.s2
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2016 6:29 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Simplify3D print settings (August 30, 2016)

Fri Apr 28, 2017 11:30 am

serge.s wrote:Hi,

@matteo.s2

Is it normal that with your FFF profile the "Auto-configure" drop downs disappear for selecting print quality and material ?
They are present with other Prusa i3 MK2 FFF profiles.

Thanks
no, it totally works for me...

wirlybird
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 12:39 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Simplify3D print settings (August 30, 2016)

Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:59 pm

@matteo.s2

Curious about your FFF file. What really is the difference in it vs. the RC4 from Prusa? What I mean is if I were to set the RC4 FFF to the same settings as you have for PLA for instance shouldn't that get me the same results as using yours? Or is there something beyond the settings we can change on the difference tabs?
Just wanting to understand and hopefully not have a dozen FFF profiles but try to narrow down to a few that are highly functional.

Thanks.

john.m7
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 11:15 am
Contact: Send private message

Re: Simplify3D print settings (August 30, 2016)

Sat Apr 29, 2017 1:11 pm

Philppe M..

Can you post a link to your profile or PLA that you think is best ?

Many thanks

John

matteo.s2
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2016 6:29 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Simplify3D print settings (August 30, 2016)

Sun Apr 30, 2017 4:55 pm

wirlybird wrote:@matteo.s2

Curious about your FFF file. What really is the difference in it vs. the RC4 from Prusa? What I mean is if I were to set the RC4 FFF to the same settings as you have for PLA for instance shouldn't that get me the same results as using yours? Or is there something beyond the settings we can change on the difference tabs?
Just wanting to understand and hopefully not have a dozen FFF profiles but try to narrow down to a few that are highly functional.
RC4 is an old configuration file and it seems they are not updating it anymore. What I did with my FFF is to cherry pick values from the latest slic3r prusa edition and semi-official Prusa's FFF plus a lot of trial and error. It is very much fine tuned over my machine, you may still need to make some adjustments, but in all honesty it is (at least for me) the best FFF you can use.

george.b2
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:46 pm
Topics answered: 1
Contact: Send private message

Re: Simplify3D print settings (August 30, 2016)

Sat May 06, 2017 12:06 am

philipp.m wrote:Hi,

I am working on my S3D profile for half a year. And now it is giving me perfect results. At least for my standard prints (PLA, 0.2 layer height)

If someone wants to try printing it without Simplfy3D i have the gcode in the ZIP-File.


Here is a zip-file with the profile and gcodes inside:
http://www.mleke.at/drucker/s3d/s3d_mleph_20170320.zip

I updated my Make on thingiverse:
http://www.thingiverse.com/make:251465

And some images to compare (they are in high resolution - save them to get a closer look):
Thanks so much for your efforts! After coming from a CTC clone and already using S3D I was eager to find settings that work best with my new MK2s. After reading this entire thread,I tried S3D's supplied profile and it stunk. Zits and seams in weird places. Josef's was much better, but yours was the best. The 3dBenchy I printed with your profile edges out Joseph's to be the best IMHO. Not to say that Joseph could not do as well, but S3D is not his, they don't pay him, and he puts his effort into Slic3r which is quite good also (and free).

User avatar
Murloc992
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:19 pm
Location: Lithuania
Contact: Send private message

Re: Simplify3D print settings (August 30, 2016)

Sun May 14, 2017 2:44 pm

Does anybody know how to make S3D do the mesh leveling before heating everything up like Cura does? Immense heat gives me some funky mesh bed leveling. :)

Return to “Original Prusa i3 MK2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests