User avatar
michael.m63
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 5:00 pm
Location: Germany
Contact: Send private message

Re: OctoPrint on MK3?

Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:06 pm

jweaver wrote:
Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:02 am
Ahhh.. I see.. So for a Pi, not Pi Zero?

I am not sure whether there is a long cable for the Zero, so for now, I am not sure whether we are going to get much flexibility on the location of camera.

Of course for the Pi zero. The cameracable is the same for all pi.

jweaver
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 3:32 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: OctoPrint on MK3?

Fri Nov 17, 2017 4:11 pm

michael.m63 wrote:
Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:06 pm
jweaver wrote:
Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:02 am
Ahhh.. I see.. So for a Pi, not Pi Zero?

I am not sure whether there is a long cable for the Zero, so for now, I am not sure whether we are going to get much flexibility on the location of camera.

Of course for the Pi zero. The cameracable is the same for all pi.
Surely not.. The Pi Zero connector is smaller, and higher density, so you need a special cable for the Pi Zero and the longest I have seen in 30cm.

george.b2
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:46 pm
Topics answered: 1
Contact: Send private message

Re: OctoPrint on MK3?

Fri Nov 17, 2017 6:01 pm

[The novelty of time lapse definitely wore off on me. I have a camera attached to the build plate on the MK2. But, like others 30mm is all I have found for the Pi Zero cable. I plan to attach a camera to the frame for monitoring and I am fairly certain I will not miss the time lapse.

m..p
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 7:17 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: OctoPrint on MK3?

Fri Nov 17, 2017 6:14 pm

You can use this extention board https://www.modmypi.com/raspberry-pi/ca ... spberry-pi and then just buy a normal RPI Camera Cable

User avatar
michael.m63
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 5:00 pm
Location: Germany
Contact: Send private message

Re: OctoPrint on MK3?

Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:37 pm

jweaver wrote:
Fri Nov 17, 2017 4:11 pm
michael.m63 wrote:
Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:06 pm
jweaver wrote:
Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:02 am
Ahhh.. I see.. So for a Pi, not Pi Zero?

I am not sure whether there is a long cable for the Zero, so for now, I am not sure whether we are going to get much flexibility on the location of camera.

Of course for the Pi zero. The cameracable is the same for all pi.
Surely not.. The Pi Zero connector is smaller, and higher density, so you need a special cable for the Pi Zero and the longest I have seen in 30cm.
Oh shit! :o You r right. Damn.
Okay... then i also need the extender: https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B073DJB2W1
and a zero cable https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B01MQMJZ5D

This is getting a bit expensive now.

User avatar
michael.m63
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 5:00 pm
Location: Germany
Contact: Send private message

Re: OctoPrint on MK3?

Sun Nov 19, 2017 7:54 pm

Okay, i got OctoPrint runing on my current machine since today. Without a working camera ;) but hey, its a nice upgrade for 3dprinting and when the right cable arive till next week, everything should work fine. I will definitely use it on my MK3 in the future.

andrew.r4
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 5:35 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: OctoPrint on MK3?

Thu Nov 23, 2017 6:15 am

Here is my tutorial video on how to setup octoprint. Some Prusa specific info, but mostly generic.
https://youtu.be/WSudWMpbWDo

User avatar
rotarypower101
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 3:48 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: OctoPrint on MK3?

Thu Nov 23, 2017 3:44 pm

andrew.r4 wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 6:15 am
Here is my tutorial video on how to setup octoprint. Some Prusa specific info, but mostly generic.
https://youtu.be/WSudWMpbWDo
If anyone comes across a good detailed thorough Mac tutorial for those less experianced, I have not found one that covers things in clear methodical detail yet.

andrew.r4
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 5:35 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: OctoPrint on MK3?

Thu Nov 23, 2017 4:12 pm

rotarypower101 wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 3:44 pm
andrew.r4 wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 6:15 am
Here is my tutorial video on how to setup octoprint. Some Prusa specific info, but mostly generic.
https://youtu.be/WSudWMpbWDo
If anyone comes across a good detailed thorough Mac tutorial for those less experianced, I have not found one that covers things in clear methodical detail yet.
I have a Mac as well. I can do the same thing for Mac. Its less stuff you need to download as you can use pico in terminal and ssh through terminal. Instead of Etcher, I use Pi Baker (I think thats the name). It has some extra features like being able to backup and image. Like if you only have 1 SD card and want to try Astroprint (Astrobox) but don't want to lose your entire Octoprint setup, you can backup the image first.

Are you good with Terminal?
your commands would be:
For wireless networks:
sudo pico "LOCATION_OF_SDCARD_BOOT"/octopi-networks.txt
enter your mac password
arrow down to your network part of the text file, uncomment it out and replace with your network information

for SSH
sudo ssh pi@octopi.local
enter your mac password
accept warning
enter your pi password
sudo raspi-config

User avatar
rotarypower101
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 3:48 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: OctoPrint on MK3?

Thu Nov 23, 2017 4:57 pm

andrew.r4 wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 4:12 pm
rotarypower101 wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 3:44 pm
andrew.r4 wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 6:15 am
Here is my tutorial video on how to setup octoprint. Some Prusa specific info, but mostly generic.
https://youtu.be/WSudWMpbWDo
If anyone comes across a good detailed thorough Mac tutorial for those less experianced, I have not found one that covers things in clear methodical detail yet.
I have a Mac as well. I can do the same thing for Mac. Its less stuff you need to download as you can use pico in terminal and ssh through terminal. Instead of Etcher, I use Pi Baker (I think thats the name). It has some extra features like being able to backup and image. Like if you only have 1 SD card and want to try Astroprint (Astrobox) but don't want to lose your entire Octoprint setup, you can backup the image first.

Are you good with Terminal?
your commands would be:
For wireless networks:
sudo pico "LOCATION_OF_SDCARD_BOOT"/octopi-networks.txt
enter your mac password
arrow down to your network part of the text file, uncomment it out and replace with your network information

for SSH
sudo ssh pi@octopi.local
enter your mac password
accept warning
enter your pi password
sudo raspi-config

Comfortable with it, you sort of have to be to get any non conventional detail accomplished... but typically when people start utilizing terminal they leave out fundemntal steps thinking the details are obvious for everyone.

Which admittedly I am not well versed in the fundamentals to know how to make jumps from one idea to another because it is obvious, or fill in the details when not instructed explicitly to do so.

Return to “Original Prusa i3 MK3”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gert.l, reid.b, Zaz and 8 guests