Birdman2010
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 3:50 pm
Contact: Send private message

Perfect Benchy, but massive spaghetti on my own gcode!

Tue Oct 10, 2017 5:56 pm

Everyone,

I have an Original Prusa MK2s. I printed a nearly perfect Benchy from the Prusa files. However, when I try to print my own models from Thingiverse, I get massive spaghetti!!!! :shock:

I un-installed Prusa3D Slic3r and re-installed it with the latest version from http://www.prusa3d.com/drivers . A number of posts on this forum stated that I had to load the "ini" file from the drivers page, but I could not see an "ini" file on the drivers page. I even used the browser search and it does not exist.

I am using the default settings on the Prusa3D Slic3r software from the installation. I tried printing with a skirt only, then with brim, and then with a raft. No luck! Is there a way to extract the settings from the Prusa models?

Here is the config.ini file from the default installation and some pictures of my prints.

http://www.rickbird.com/downloads/config.txt (renamed the extension from "ini" to "txt" so it would work on this post)


Image

Image

Image

elliot.l4
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 5:18 am
Topics answered: 1
Contact: Send private message

Re: Perfect Benchy, but massive spaghetti on my own gcode!

Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:02 am

Did you try your own model with the white filament?
Is your first layer sticking to the bed or none of it is sticking?

You should take a look here : https://shop.prusa3d.com/forum/prusa-i3 ... t2981.html

Birdman2010
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 3:50 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Perfect Benchy, but massive spaghetti on my own gcode!

Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:32 pm

@elliot.I4: THANK YOU SO MUCH! My print is now 25% complete and it is looking great so far! It turns out that my Z adjustment was way off even though it looked good using the V2Calibration.gcode file. JeffJordan's technique with the calibration pad should be the normal way to calibrate the Z adjustment. It is difficult to see that one little tiny line in the V2Calibration.gcode file. However, it is easy to see problems when you have a big 75x75mm square to judge! ellitot.I4, thank you so much for pointing me to the calibration squares!

aaron.s5
Posts: 723
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 4:17 am
Topics answered: 19
Location: Boulder CO, USA
Contact: Send private message

Re: Perfect Benchy, but massive spaghetti on my own gcode!

Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:27 am

Birdman2010 wrote:
Tue Oct 10, 2017 5:56 pm

I un-installed Prusa3D Slic3r and re-installed it with the latest version from http://www.prusa3d.com/drivers . A number of posts on this forum stated that I had to load the "ini" file from the drivers page, but I could not see an "ini" file on the drivers page. I even used the browser search and it does not exist.
The .ini file is very important to get your Slic3r settings correct. Two versions of it (MMU and standard) are included in the directory of the DRIVERS download that included Slic3r, PrusaControl, Pronterface, and the pre-sliced objects.
Any advices given are offered in good faith. It is your responsibility to ensure that by following my advice you do not suffer or cause injury, damage or loss.

If you solve your problem, please post the solution for others.

Birdman2010
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 3:50 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Perfect Benchy, but massive spaghetti on my own gcode!

Thu Oct 12, 2017 3:08 am

@aaron.s5: I appreciate you wanting to help. Thank you. At the same time, the ini file does not exist. Something has changed because the ini file simply does not exist. I created this video to show you:

https://lms.courselearn.net/lms/video/p ... 0_9tl0b1pt

aaron.s5
Posts: 723
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 4:17 am
Topics answered: 19
Location: Boulder CO, USA
Contact: Send private message

Re: Perfect Benchy, but massive spaghetti on my own gcode!

Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:47 pm

Birdman2010 wrote:
Thu Oct 12, 2017 3:08 am
@aaron.s5: I appreciate you wanting to help. Thank you. At the same time, the ini file does not exist. Something has changed because the ini file simply does not exist. I created this video to show you:

https://lms.courselearn.net/lms/video/p ... 0_9tl0b1pt
Do not look on the web page. It is in the folder that you ALREADY downloaded from the DRIVERS page. The one that contains Slic3r.

You are looking at the the start list which only lists the PROGRAMS you can execute. It is in the folder. When you opened the 3D files, it should be one folder up from that. (NOTE: I am on a different OS, so things look different to me.)

Try doing a search on your computer for: mk2_Slic3r_pruas3d_1_9_0.ini

Or try (from slic3r) to do a Load Config Bundle... and search for that file from the open dialog box.

Other users said it was here: C:\Users\Public\Documents\Prusa3D\Slic3r settings MK2\
Any advices given are offered in good faith. It is your responsibility to ensure that by following my advice you do not suffer or cause injury, damage or loss.

If you solve your problem, please post the solution for others.

Birdman2010
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 3:50 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: Perfect Benchy, but massive spaghetti on my own gcode!

Thu Oct 12, 2017 3:24 pm

I searched my computer files for "mk2_Slic3r_pruas3d" starting at the C:\ directory and nothing was found with those characters in the name.

I found some ini files in the "C:\Users\Public\Documents\Slic3r settings MK2 190\" folder, but these are the working ini files -- not ini files to import. There is an ini file in this directory for every single setting in Slic3r, including: simpl.ini, slic3r.inni, Original Prusa i3 MK2 0.6 nozzle.ini, Original Prusa i3 MK2 0.25 nozzle.ini, etc.

Apparently, Josef and his team have included the settings directly into the Prusa3D Slic3r application. We do not need to import an ini file any more.

My issue turned out to be a Z adjustment. I could not see the single line z calibration print that is provided with the Prusa printer. Instead, I am using JeffJordan's technique with the calibration pad and it is helping a lot! I strongly believe that the Josef and his team should provide a calibration pad as part of the initial printer setup. Use the z calibration line. Then, when you think you got it, print a calibration pad to see if the lines bond to each other as a single unit. If the lines still separate, you need to lower your z adjustment further.

Return to “Print tips - Slic3r settings, KISSlicer, model repair, ...”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests